Recap Day 2 – 03/27 Zucchini Noodles

Some Mondays are rough and then there are the Mondays that make you start to question your whole life. Why am I here? Is this worth it? What did I do to deserve this? You know just the usual Monday. Today was the later kind of Monday. I naively thought, “Hey, I’ll wear my heel boots, it’s not like I ever stand on the metro”, queue the MOST packed and slow train since the metro rebuild. But hey, it’s public transportation, I was only 30 minutes late to work, my feet were mush, no big deal. Plus the weather was supposed to be nice, I had a great breakfast and lunch packed, Metro you can’t bring me down!

I leave the office at 5:30 pm, it’s 75 degrees outside, the cherry blossoms are in peak bloom (at least what is left of them),  the sun is shining!

I had a decently productive work day, the train was running so well, I was making great time. I thought I might even have time to take a walk after dinner, “Oh how swell it’ll be!”. Somewhere between Ballston and East Falls Church the train stops, nothing too crazy, red lights are a common occurrence. The train driver lets us know we’re stopping for a technical difficult and we should be moving soon, don’t be alarmed, [Chaos ensues, seats are flipped, mechanical guys are yelling things, driver is running back and forth] then an HOUR passes by, we finally make it to a platform.

IMG_20170327_185056939_HDR

The sun has set, the evening has passed, it’s almost 8 pm, I left work at 5:30 pm, I am finally home. On a usual night, no big deal, my sister and husband are home they’ll prep dinner. My sister however had a school assignment and this is the best part, my husband came home and has a stomach bug and is busy getting friendly with our porcelain throne.

I was sure I would just call in some delivery, or eat some toast and call it a day. The little overachieving voice in my head was saying you can’t fail now, it’s only the first day of our meal planning week. I am making that stupid noodle dish even if it kills whatever tiny sliver of optimism that is left in my soul! Everyone pitched in to help, even the hubby, although from afar reading out the recipe. It was definitely worth it, the dressing alone was A+.  it doesn’t keeps super well, but it was good enough for lunch the next day.

101_0271

Zucchini Noodles with Tahini-Ginger dressing, adapted from America’s Test Kitchen

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of tahini
  • 4 tbsp of soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 4 tsp grated ginger
  • 1 tsp hot sauce (Texas Pete) – will try garlic chili next time
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 minced garlic clove
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 12 oz broccoli florets
  • 2 lbs zucchini
  • 1 red bell pepper, 1/8 inch-wide strip (make them bite sized)
  • 1 carrot, shredded
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds

Directions:

  1. Blend the tahini, soy sauce, vinegar, ginger, honey, hot sauce, salt, and garlic, until smooth.
  2. Heat sesame oil and olive oil in a pan, on medium high, brown the broccoli, about 5-7 minutes. Take the broccoli out if the pan.
  3. Lower the heat to medium low, add the sesame seeds and heat until they turn litly golden.
  4. Mix the zucchini, bell pepper, carrot, broccoli and sesame seeds with sauce. Enjoy!
One thought on “Recap Day 2 – 03/27 Zucchini Noodles

Leave a Reply

